updated 02:12 pm EDT, Sun July 20, 2014
Updates allow entire direct message history to be seen across apps, consistently deleted
Last week, Twitter announced that it is going to issue an update on how direct messages are handled on the micro-blogging service. The update makes deleting direct messages consistent across all platforms, allowing users a single action for removal, rather than deleting across every interface version. Another update is coming that changes how direct messages are handled across the numerous platforms, to give users access to their complete messaging history.
As Twitter currently stands, deleting direct messages in the system isn't centralized to the platform being used. When a thread is deleted from Tweetdeck or the iOS Twitter app, for example, it might not be deleted from Twitter.com in the process. This piecemeal approach to deleting leaves remaining threads for users to clear up.
We're also making an update to the Twitter iPhone and Android apps that will allow you to access your entire DM history.- Twitter Support (@Support) July 18, 2014
With the upcoming change, Twitter has recognized that managing direct messages is problematic for users. In the tweet announcing the change, Twitter stated that the update, that the makes the removal consistent, is going to roll out in "next few weeks." Deleting the message appears to retain its ease of removal by simply clicking on a trash can icon to delete it.
In addition to the consistent way to delete direct messages, Twitter states that it would be issuing another update to view the entire direct messaging history. The update is focused on expanding the access Android and iOS app users. As with deleting messages now, the amount of history viewable on each platform is different.
Twitter warns that some URLs may not work as the direct messaging back-end is updated. The support page reminds users that deleting a direct message only removes it from the account, not for both parties involved.
The messaging company continues to tweak its service as part of its search for a better user experience. Twitter is constantly playing with new ideas in test runs, often not announcing the subjects until it decides to take them live. Select users are granted a feature as Twitter tries to see if it's something the company could change or add to improve the experience.