Text Size

Another MobileMe credit card phishing scam surfaces

updated 05:25 pm EDT, Tue September 23, 2008

MobileMe phishing scam

Malicious users are again targeting MobileMe customers with a phishing ploy geared towards obtaining credit card information. According to UGN InfoManager, the scam comes in the form of a billing verification email from Apple, which leads users to an official-looking website. The site is hosted on a fraudulent web server, the domain name being klubdna.com, despite the visual resemblances to Apple's MobileMe account page.

In addition, the originating server DNS addresses have been masked by Joker.com, a site suspected of sympathizing with online criminals.






 
Previous Comments

Fraudulent page, not site

09/23, 08:41pm reply

The destinations of links for this campaign are typically legitimate web sites that have been hijacked by phishers. The phishers insert pages (and usually PHP programs) into the site in a new subdirectory undetectable to normal site visitors or even to webmasters who don't check their directory structure or access logs. I received the same phishing message today (sent from a different bot-net PC), which contained a link to a hijacked French web site.

danny goodman

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Sep 2008

+2

Stiff penalty

09/24, 09:25am reply

They really need to crack down on idiots that do this. Penalties need to be extremely harsh, ie, banishment from the human race.

bjojade

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Jun 2007

0

joker.com ???

09/24, 10:29am reply

Can you please elaborate on the "sympathizing with online criminals" claim about joker.com? I've been using them as a registrar for years with no problems and without ever hearing any of these rumors. Where did you get your information from?

sixpointohtwo

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Sep 2008

0

Popular News