macnn

04/17/2008, 9:00pm, EDT

Thursday, April 17th

Psystar violates EFI firmware license

The ongoing Psystar situation has revealed that the company is not only breaching Apple's license agreement, but also that of the EFI firmware emulation utility it uses to fool Leopard into installing. MacUser UK reports that Psystar is using the EFI v8 emulator without proper admission of the author, Netkas, and in clear violation of the software's license, which reads "Redistribution and use in binary form for direct or indirect commercial purposes, with or without modification, is stricktly (sic) forbidden."

Aside from a questionable explanation from Psystar, little has been said by the company to debunk rumors, and even more puzzling still is Apple's silence on the matter. Psystar has also been quite elusive and mysterious, by suddenly switching operating addresses to locations that don't appear to have anything to do with the company, and a distinct lack of history.


Filed under: Apple, computers, industry, software
Other story tags: Leopard, Psystar, EFI V8

, , 13comments, del.icio.us, slashdot, digg


13 comments
Reader Reactions (Please use <i></i> for italic text)

subscribe to comments
for this article




Expand All   Global Settings
Why not...
0
04/17, 10:04pm, EDT
...regurgitate this story a couple of more times, shall we?

Shift a few paragraphs around, replace a coupe of words - and presto, a brand new story, worthy of the MacNN journalistic excellence.

Right?
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date:Jan 2005
Status:Offline
how ridiculous...
0
04/17, 10:12pm, EDT
"...and even more puzzling still is Apple's silence on the matter."

Everyone is looking to Apple for their reaction. What is so puzzling? From Apple's perspective, there's nothing to react to! What are they supposed to do? Shake their angry fist and say, "You better not!!!"

*If* Psystar actually releases something, it's a job for the lawyers and no one else. But frankly, my bet is the whole thing is a hoax-- reminds me of that hoax back in the 90's where a couple of guys had the industry on its' ear because they claimed to have beaten Apple out with a Mac OS X clone before Apple themselves released X.
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date:Mar 2003
Status:Offline
well
0
04/17, 10:13pm, EDT
you keep coming back for more, zinkdifferent... are you a masochist or something?
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date:Sep 2001
Status:Offline
how rediculous (part 2)
0
04/17, 10:14pm, EDT
forgot to add... ... what zinkdifferent said.
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date:Mar 2003
Status:Offline
re: ridiculous
0
04/17, 10:16pm, EDT
I think Apple knows something, these people are fools and they will soon self-destruct. If this was something worthy of squashing like a bug with an army of attorneys, it would have been done already. Clearly someone at Apple investigated Psystar like a proctologist investigates your colon and determined that it would be better to sit back and watch them implode.

If these guys aren't selling computers there's nothing to worry about. I'd be curious if anybody out there actually has a Psystar machine that runs Leopard.
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date:Sep 2001
Status:Offline
When one adds it up...
0
04/17, 10:26pm, EDT
...it is a $600-$850 plastic & pressed metal clone - much threat to the beautifully crafted mini or pro...?

Try a k car next to a bimmer?
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date:Aug 2002
Status:Offline
Apple is targeting
0
04/18, 12:01am, EDT
Apple is targeting as we speak. I'm sure they have people looking into this whole mess. And when they're ready they will have Psystar shutdown in no time.
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date:Apr 2002
Status:Offline
sounds a lot like...
0
04/18, 2:27am, EDT
...that fucktard miguel liebermann is at it again. remember "Go-L.com" and L Computers? lol. idiot.

right up his alley.

Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date:Aug 2001
Status:Offline
hey macnn...
0
04/18, 3:45am, EDT
dig a little please. this company is so fake i can smell it from here. i can almost guarantee that this thing is one kid focking around. just like the liebermann/go-l scam.

nothing on the site actually works or requires any real programming. the writing is a joke. clearly not a professional business. they can't process credit cards right now, because "their payment processor dropped the ball on us". someone set them up the bomb!

the "create account/account login" is featured prominently on every page, yet the 'form action', which should call to some logic or CGI, is just a reload of the same html page.... which means, it's fake. there is no account creation. it's all for show.

psystar appears to be run by:

Pedraza, Rodolfo rp@PSYSTAR.COM 3401 SW 104 CT Miami, FL 33165 US Phone: 3053566666 Fax: 3053575555

he also owns other domains that go nowhere/do nothing. some resolving to panama. the nameservers for psystar are also reg'd by rodolfo. if you map the address, it appears to be a small house in a residential area. real professional.

this "business" is a scam, likely trying to phish for CC #s.

technology blogs/new sites that can't undertake even the most rudimentary investigation before reporting should STFU.
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date:Aug 2001
Status:Offline
efi license
0
04/18, 7:56am, EDT
Well, maybe they couldn't figure out what stricktly meant, so it inviolated that portion of the license...
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date:Aug 2001
Status:Offline
additional comments:..1..2..Next
Your Comments

In order to post comments: If you are a registered member, please login with your MacNN Forums username and password otherwise please uncheck the checkbox below.


Registered Member?
macnn forums login:

macnn forums password:

Not a member of the MacNN forums? Register now for free.

RSS Feeds

Have the latest content delivered to your desktop via RSS. Use the links below to get access to a specific blog, news, or reviews feed.



  MacNN -all

  MacNN Reviews

  MacNN Podcasts

  iPodNN

  Electronista

  Left Lane News
Autokredit im Vergleich - Here is some car credit information for our Germany visitors.
Turn your laptop into CASH: Sell us your used laptop. Working or not. Get money FAST. Instant online quote. Shipping is FREE.

PowerBookMedic will fix any Powerbook, iBook, iPod: We offer Parts, Hard Drives, Superdrives, Ram Upgrades & Repairs all backed up w/ our 1YR Warranty!

Looking For A NEW LAPTOP? Build Your Own!: CHECK IT OUT! Build your Intel®-Powered Laptop With ZipZoomFly. Chassis, Components, Everything.

CHECK OUT THE VIERA FROM PANASONIC: Enter a New Visual Era with Panasonic VIERA HDTVs. An Enhanced Experience.

Sony Entry-Level Data Projectors With HDMI!: Universally Seen As The Perfect Choice For Education & Business. Bright, Stylish, Easy To Use!

Unlocked: Browse a huge selection now. Find exactly what you want today.

Buy from The Apple Store, iTunes.com, Amazon.com, TechDepot, OfficeDepot, Computers4Sure, or donate.