Text Size

Psystar violates EFI firmware license

updated 09:00 pm EDT, Thu April 17, 2008

Psystar violates v8 EULA

The ongoing Psystar situation has revealed that the company is not only breaching Apple's license agreement, but also that of the EFI firmware emulation utility it uses to fool Leopard into installing. MacUser UK reports that Psystar is using the EFI v8 emulator without proper admission of the author, Netkas, and in clear violation of the software's license, which reads "Redistribution and use in binary form for direct or indirect commercial purposes, with or without modification, is stricktly (sic) forbidden."

Aside from a questionable explanation from Psystar, little has been said by the company to debunk rumors, and even more puzzling still is Apple's silence on the matter. Psystar has also been quite elusive and mysterious, by suddenly switching operating addresses to locations that don't appear to have anything to do with the company, and a distinct lack of history.

 
Previous Comments

Why not...

04/17, 10:04pm reply

...regurgitate this story a couple of more times, shall we?

Shift a few paragraphs around, replace a coupe of words - and presto, a brand new story, worthy of the MacNN journalistic excellence.

Right?

ZinkDifferent

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Jan 2005

0

how ridiculous...

04/17, 10:12pm reply

"...and even more puzzling still is Apple's silence on the matter."

Everyone is looking to Apple for their reaction. What is so puzzling? From Apple's perspective, there's nothing to react to! What are they supposed to do? Shake their angry fist and say, "You better not!!!"

*If* Psystar actually releases something, it's a job for the lawyers and no one else. But frankly, my bet is the whole thing is a hoax-- reminds me of that hoax back in the 90's where a couple of guys had the industry on its' ear because they claimed to have beaten Apple out with a Mac OS X clone before Apple themselves released X.

_Rick_V_

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Mar 2003

0

well

04/17, 10:13pm reply

you keep coming back for more, zinkdifferent... are you a m******** or something?

climacs

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Sep 2001

0

how rediculous (part 2)

04/17, 10:14pm reply

forgot to add... ... what zinkdifferent said.

_Rick_V_

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Mar 2003

0

re: ridiculous

04/17, 10:16pm reply

I think Apple knows something, these people are fools and they will soon self-destruct. If this was something worthy of squashing like a bug with an army of attorneys, it would have been done already. Clearly someone at Apple investigated Psystar like a proctologist investigates your colon and determined that it would be better to sit back and watch them implode.

If these guys aren't selling computers there's nothing to worry about. I'd be curious if anybody out there actually has a Psystar machine that runs Leopard.

climacs

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Sep 2001

0

When one adds it up...

04/17, 10:26pm reply

...it is a $600-$850 plastic & pressed metal clone - much threat to the beautifully crafted mini or pro...?

Try a k car next to a bimmer?

bobolicious

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Aug 2002

0

Apple is targeting

04/18, 12:01am reply

Apple is targeting as we speak. I'm sure they have people looking into this whole mess. And when they're ready they will have Psystar shutdown in no time.

horvatic

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Apr 2002

0

sounds a lot like...

04/18, 02:27am reply

...that fucktard miguel liebermann is at it again. remember "Go-L.com" and L Computers? lol. idiot.

right up his alley.

rtbarry

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Aug 2001

0

hey macnn...

04/18, 03:45am reply

dig a little please. this company is so fake i can smell it from here. i can almost guarantee that this thing is one kid focking around. just like the liebermann/go-l scam.

nothing on the site actually works or requires any real programming. the writing is a joke. clearly not a professional business. they can't process credit cards right now, because "their payment processor dropped the ball on us". someone set them up the bomb!

the "create account/account login" is featured prominently on every page, yet the 'form action', which should call to some logic or CGI, is just a reload of the same html page.... which means, it's fake. there is no account creation. it's all for show.

psystar appears to be run by:

Pedraza, Rodolfo rp@PSYSTAR.COM 3401 SW 104 CT Miami, FL 33165 US Phone: 3053566666 Fax: 3053575555

he also owns other domains that go nowhere/do nothing. some resolving to panama. the nameservers for psystar are also reg'd by rodolfo. if you map the address, it appears to be a small house in a residential area. real professional.

this "business" is a scam, likely trying to phish for CC #s.

technology blogs/new sites that can't undertake even the most rudimentary investigation before reporting should STFU.

rtbarry

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Aug 2001

0

efi license

04/18, 07:56am reply

Well, maybe they couldn't figure out what stricktly meant, so it inviolated that portion of the license...

testudo

Fresh-Faced Recruit

Joined: Aug 2001

0

Popular News